Sharanam - Season 2 - Faith ...

Daksh Mahadev Temple | Sharanam - Faith Dairies ...

Genre: Mythology | 02:51

Age Description: U - Suitable For All

Cast: Juhi Chawla


A place that literally means the Gateway to God - Haridwar is considered one of the most popular holy places for Hindus. Located on the banks of river Ganga, Haridwar has been the centre of Hindu religion and mysticism for centuries. Legend has it that during the Samudra Manthan, Haridwar along with Ujjain, Nashik, and Allahabad was one of the four sites where drops of Amrit elixir of immortality accidentally spilt while being carried by Garuda, which is celebrated by holding the Kumbh Mela once in every 12 years here. The exact spot where the drops of Amrit fell is known as Har ki Pauri footsteps of the Lord and it is a strong belief among Hindus that taking a dip in these ghats can wash away ones sins and help them attain Moksha salvation. The luminous and reverberant Ganga Aarti that takes place every evening on the ghats of Haridwar is a sight to behold and soak in. The most famous temple of Haridwar, which is also one of its identity markers, is the Daksheshwar Mahadev Mandir. Located around 5 km from Har Ki Pauri, the Daksheshwar Mahadev Temple is considered the source of all 52 shakti peeths in the world. Mythological scriptures hint at the fact that King Daksh was one of the 14 Prajapatis creator deities and also the father of Sati who was married off to Lord Shiva in a huge ceremony here. Known as an arrogant king, King Daksh wasnt very fond of Lord Shiva, and hence, Sati was forced to immolate herself in one of the Kunds during a Yagna. The angry Lord Shiva then manifested as a self-created linga and ordered the severing of Dakshas head but later replaced that with the head of a male goat so that the Yagna could proceed peacefully. Then Lord Shiva declared that every year, during the month of Saavan, the month that is dearest to the Lord, Kankhal would be His abode. Rich in history and laden with the divine powers of Lord Shiva, Daksheshwar Mahadev Temple shall surely bind your soul to the supreme.

see more +

All Episodes

Ganpatipule Temple | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Mahakaleshwar Temple | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Hazur Sahib | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Hemis Monastery | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Kaal Bhairav | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Krishna Balram Temple | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Nakoda Bhairav | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Rumtek Dharma Chakra Centre | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Shani Shignapur | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Maa Bhadrakali Devikoop | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Brahma Temple | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Mahalaxmi Temple | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Daksh Mahadev Temple | Sharanam - Faith Dairies
Kaamana Poori Karne Wali Maa Kamakhya
Somnath - The Eternal Shrine | सोमनाथ  - इटरनल श्राइन
Our Lady Of Good Health - Church Of Velankanni
Jwala Devi - The Eternal Flame
Sri Harmandir Sahib (Golden Temple) | Where Divinity Dwells | Sharanam-Faith Diaries
Shirdi Ke Sai Baba | शिरडी के साई बाबा | Sharanam-Faith Diaries
Ajmer Sharif Dargah | अजमेर शरीफ दरगाह | Sharanam-Faith Diaries
Udupi Krishna Matha | उडुपी कृष्ण मठ | Sharanam-Faith Diarie
Saptashrungi Temple | सप्तशृंगी देवी मंदिर | Sharanam-Faith Diaries
Trimbakeshwar Shiva Temple | त्र्यंबकेश्वर शिव मंदिर | Sharanam-Faith Diaries
Khatushyam Temple | खातुुश्याम मंदिर | Sharanam - Faith dairies
Hazrat Nizamuddin Aulia Dargah | हजरत निजामुद्दीन औलिया दरगाह | Sharanam - Faith dairies
Iranshah Atash Behram | इरानशाह अताश बेहराम | Sharanam Faith – Dairies

Similar Shows

Buddha Sutra (English)
13 Episodes
Animals in mythology
4 Episodes
Sharanam - Season 2 - Faith Diaries
26 Episodes
26 Episodes
Akki Jaanbaaz
26 Episodes
Akki Jaanbaaz (Tamil)
26 Episodes
Devlok with Devdutt Pattanaik (Tamil)
30 Episodes
Buddha Sutra (Hindi)
13 Episodes
Devlok Mini
38 Episodes
Paapnaashini Ganga
88 Episodes
Akul Nakul The Asuras
25 Episodes
Devlok with Devdutt Pattanaik
71 Episodes

Related Podcasts

Ram Leela
18 Episodes
40 Episodes
61 Episodes
इतिहास पुराण की कथाएं Itihas Puran Ki Kathaye
44 Episodes
इतिहास पुराणातील कथा Itihas Puranatil Katha
38 Episodes
Knock Knock Ganesha
12 Episodes
Shri Krishna
32 Episodes
Sainath Sabka Malik Ek
40 Episodes
Jai Bajrangi
40 Episodes
100 Episodes